Pilgrimage: a journey to Love Island - Jay Ramsay

Pilgrimage: a journey to Love Island - Jay Ramsay

Regular price £15.00

In the summer of 1990 Jay Ramsay set out on pilgrimage with an interfaith group from London to Iona. The result is his most ambitious book-length poem, an astonishing tour de force in the tradition of Wordsworth and Chaucer. Epiphanic, conversational, meditational, psychological, political, it divines ‘the cross’ of spiritual and ecological being in Britain’s radical tradition, as symbolised by Iona as the crown of the Celtic church and the direction that Christianity lost. Constructed as a series of 25 ‘days’, the narrative builds symphonically like waves of the sea up to its visionary climax. Full of stories, reflections, memories, and images, Pilgrimage is above all a love poem, an invitation into the greater love that is our true becoming where we can find the God most personal to all of us – alive in the heart of Life.

 

‘Pilgrimage is an important outpouring from one of Britain’s leading poets wrestling with the Christ story, the human story, and the story of where we need to go as a species. Travelling with Jay is never anything less than a journey into the past, with adventures in the present, and visions of hope for the future.’

Martin Palmer

 

‘It is strange and beautiful how everything he passes comes into colour, into focus – is born. And I ran along after him and listened as he changed the colour of the sea and broke down doors.’

Peter Owen Jones

 

'Jay’s latest work is quite exceptional. I’ve been reading it every morning and can’t put it down, it turns the start of every breakfast into a feast. Every line is a rich mix of breakfast berries and linguistic delights, with a lyrical yoghurt that bathes every page of the journey.'

Will Thomas